Board of Directors and Staff


Board of Directors


David Bressoud

David Bressoud, Former President of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). As DeWitt Wallace Professor of Mathematics at Macalester College, Bressoud has been chair of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science from 1995 until 2001. He has held visiting positions at the Institute for Advanced Study, the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the University of Minnesota, Université Louis Pasteur (Strasbourg, France), and the State College Area High School. Dr. Bressoud has received the MAA Distinguished Teaching Award and the MAA Beckenbach Book Award for Proofs and Confirmations. He has published over fifty research articles in number theory, combinatorics, and special functions. David has chaired the Advanced Placement Calculus Development Committee and has served as Director of the Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education program in Quantitative Methods for Public Policy.

Robert “Bob” J. Daverman

Bob Daverman, Secretary of the American Mathematical Society from 1999 to 2013. After earning a B.A. from Calvin College in 1963, he entered graduate school at the University of Wisconsin where he received a Ph.D. in 1967 with R.H. Bing (member of the National Academy of Sciences) serving as his advisor. Shortly thereafter he moved, with his family, to Knoxville to join the faculty at the University of Tennessee. A world renowned expert in the topology of manifolds, Daverman has authored or co-authored more than a hundred original research articles.

Ronald G. Douglas

Ronald G. Douglas, Former Provost of Texas A&M University. Douglas received his Ph.D. in mathematics from Louisiana State University. While teaching at the State University of New York at Stony Brook he moved into university administration, eventually becoming Vice Provost at Stony Brook in 1990, and Provost at Texas A&M from 1996 until 2002. Currently he is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mathematics at Texas A&M.

William C. (Bill) Hamilton

Bill Hamilton had a leadership role in the strategic planning efforts to take Inquiry-Based Learning to a national level. He is a veteran of Texas state and local governments with a wide range of public, non-profit management experiences. Bill has over forty years’ experience in Texas government, serving as budget advisor to governors Briscoe, Clements, and White, 1973 to 1986. He was Mayor of Rollingwood, 2010 to 2012, following four City Council terms. He is president of the Texas Retired State Employees Association, Board Nominating and Development chair of Initiatives of Change USA, and chair of Austin Palmer Drug Abuse Program. He has a Bachelor of Arts in Government and Economics, Austin College, and a Master of Public Affairs, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, The University of Texas at Austin.

Albert C. Lewis

Albert C. Lewis received his Ph.D. degree in history of mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin in 1975 and helped to found there the Archives of American Mathematics. A principal project was to preserve the history of R.L. Moore and the Texas School of topology. After working with the Bertrand Russell Editorial Project at McMaster University in Canada and the Charles S. Peirce Edition Project at Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis, he returned to Austin in 2008 to assist the Educational Advancement Foundation in supporting mathematics education and archives. He has published in the history and philosophy of mathematics and served on various committees of the American Mathematical Society, the Mathematical Association of America, and the History of Science Society.

Harry Lucas, Jr.


Harry Lucas, Jr., entered the University of Texas at Austin in 1951, studied under Professor R. L. Moore for two years, and returned to Beaumont where he graduated from Lamar University in 1955. He taught mathematics at Lamar University for four years. After his father’s death he became more involved in the family business of Gulf Coast oil and gas leases, wildcat drilling deals, and royalty investments. In 1969, he founded The Educational Advancement Foundation as a vehicle for R. L. Moore type (Inquiry-Based Learning), educational reform, and currently supports related projects. Involved in several civil and charitable causes, he was inducted into the Hall of Honor of the University of Texas at Austin College of Natural Sciences in 2001.

Tina Straley

Tina Straley, Executive Director of the Mathematical Association of America from 2000 to 2011. After receiving her Ph.D. in mathematics from Auburn University, Straley joined the mathematics department at Kennesaw Junior College (now Kennesaw State University) where she became Chair of the Department of Mathematics and then Associate Vice President for Scholarship and Graduate Studies. During her tenure at Kennesaw, Straley spent two years at the National Science Foundation as Program Officer for Mathematics and Coordinator of Teacher Preparation in its Division of Undergraduate Education.


Willam “Bus” Jaco
Executive Director

Bus Jaco’s mathematical research is in geometry and topology and is best known for the Jaco-Shalen-Johannson (JSJ) Decomposition Theorem, work on normal surfaces, and the discovery of efficient triangulations. He served as Executive Director of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) from 1988 to 1995 and has been recognized as a Fellow of the AMS and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.  Recently he has been actively engaged in undergraduate mathematics education reform.

Sally Blue

Sally Blue is a consultant focused on nonprofit management, fundraising and legacy leadership. She has provided counsel to a wide range of organizations, guiding capital campaigns, strategic planning and assessments for boards and staff. An active part of the nonprofit sector for over twenty years, she served for seven years as part of the Dini Spheris team. Prior to consulting work, Sally worked for a variety of nonprofit organizations including Girl Scouts, Family Eldercare, and Emory University. She is the Immediate Past President of the Association of Fundraising Professionals Greater Austin Chapter and a member of Leadership Austin Class of 2017.